Elbow and hand pain

OllyUK
OllyUK Posts: 230
edited January 2008 in Road beginners
When out cycling for anything more than 10 or so miles on my road bike I start getting pains in my elbows and just under my thumb when I have my hands up near the top of the shifters. Its fine when Im in the drops.
The hand pain is in the bit where the thumb join the hand and the elbow pain is in the joint, I have no idea whats causing this, I dont know wheter its just because Im not used to the positioning (still being relativly new to road bikes) or whether its the stem length or top tube lenght.
The height of the frame seems almost perfect however, the reach feels just right for my legs, and Im not getting any back pains or anything.

Comments

• webbhost
    webbhost Posts: 470
    Hi,

I am no fitting expert, but my "guess" would be that your bars may not be positioned properly. look at your bike from the side, and ensure that the bottom of your drop bars run parallel with the ground (correct me if I'm wrong people). It shouldn't be going numb because you're new to road bikes, they're going numb because your hands are holding the bars in a funny position.

Could also help to get someone to take a picture of you on your bike from the side, and showing the position your hands are in. Pictures are worth 1000 words :)
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    webbhost wrote:
    ensure that the bottom of your drop bars run parallel with the ground (correct me if I'm wrong people).

I think that's a good start, but it's ok if the drops are aiming towards the rear hub aswell, it depends on what's comfortable.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • Garybee
    Garybee Posts: 815
    I think the shape of bars varies far too much for any general rule like that to be helpful. Also, the man said his hands were painful, not numb.