PUMP ADVICE

DUMBODOGGY
DUMBODOGGY Posts: 4
edited January 2008 in Road beginners
I am very new to road cycling and will tomorrow go on my first 'proper' ride on my new Trek.

I have been out today and purchased a pump as my tyres are around 50psi. I have been told that my tyres should be around 100psi. I originally bought a good handpump but that won't let me put in anymore than 50-60psi.

The new pump I have bought has the wider valve instead of the small narrow valve on my Trek. Is there anything I can do to make it fit or is it scrap?

Thanks Guys :D

Comments

• Smokin Joe
    Smokin Joe Posts: 2,706
    Your pump has a fitting for car type Shraedar valves and you need one for the Presta valves that are used on road bikes. Many pumps have a reversable head, see if it is possible to unscrew it and turn the rubber bit inside. If not then take it back and ask the shop to exchange it for another pump.

Riding with only 50psi in the tyres is asking for trouble, the bike will handle like a shopping trolly and you are likely to get a pinch punture.
  • Arr, that makes sense!!

definatly cant change the head so I wont be going out in the morning!! managed to squeez 70-80 psi in but not comfortble with that!!

Thanks for the advice... :)
  • DUMBODOGGY wrote:
    I am very new to road cycling and will tomorrow go on my first 'proper' ride on my new Trek.

I have been out today and purchased a pump as my tyres are around 50psi. I have been told that my tyres should be around 100psi. I originally bought a good handpump but that won't let me put in anymore than 50-60psi.

The new pump I have bought has the wider valve instead of the small narrow valve on my Trek. Is there anything I can do to make it fit or is it scrap?

Thanks Guys :D

You want to get yourself a track pump with a guage like this
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ProductDetail.a ... 0II%20Pump

My commuting bike
    http://tinyurl.com/366awv