Cyclocross Bike For Commuting?

csd1uk
csd1uk Posts: 4
edited January 2008 in Road beginners
Hi all,

i have recently been more and more convinced to take up cycling properly now that i have settled into living in London. My background is mainly with mountain biking, generally forest trails etc, but since moving away from cornwall, my main chance to cycle is going to be on the road and commuting.

I have been looking at bikes for the last few weeks and read a lot of posts on these forums and i thought i was getting close to what bike to go for, and then i came across the cyclocross (specifically the Focus Mares). The main reason this came up other than a straight road bike is because i am used to MTBs and thought it may be more suitable for all weather commutes.

I am going to be using the bike mainly for commuting but i also want to use it for longer road rides as well (up to 90 mile rides on rare occasions). the questions i really have are would a cyclocross bike be suitable for long road rides, if per say i had a set of wheels with the cyclo cross set up for commuting (thought this would be better in the wet, and perhaps better for stop start of london) and then a set of wheels with a pure road set up for the longer rides?

or

would i benefit more from getting a pure road bike such as the focus cayo, Giant SCR 1.0 or the planet x and then getting used to commuting on it (i have heard of a lot of falls in damp conditions/diesel etc).

Sorry if this is a rambling post...i am not that good with words!! Its basically a what sort of bike would suit me best kind of post, and from that any pull towards which model and make of bike!

Comments

• Back in '96 my race frame took longer to be delivered than expected, so I started my early season race campaign on a Ti cyclo cross frame, just with some race wheels fitted in place of my cross wheels