Focus bikes - Cayo and Variado Expert

scooterboy
scooterboy Posts: 843
edited April 2008 in Road beginners
Im looking at a new (entry level) road bike having had a lay off from cycling for a couple of years, im no newbie but kit has moved on since my last foray into cycling and the trickle down effect seems to have hit the lower end stuff with some gusto recently.

I had originally set my mind on a 2008 Bianchi Via Nirone with either Tiagra or Sora as the frame looks worthy of future upgrades (in the contect of wheels mainly), but my eye has been caught by Focus bikes available through Wiggle. I could be tempted to one of the cheaper 2007 Cayo carbon/Ultegra/105 mix models although i have seen a 2007 Variado Expert with an amazing spec for the money - Almost full Ultegra/alloy frame/Fulcrum wheelset.

My biggest reluctance is sizing and the unknown -i know what size i want but im unsure how the Focus bikes measure in up in reality and obviously i cant try one before i buy - whereas with the Bianchi i would go the LBS route. Now i know spec wise the Focus variado expert beats the Via Nirone hands down but to me Focus are an unknown quanitity. Saying that the mags rave about them......

Initially i'd set out to spend £550ish but for the carbon/Ultegra 2007 Cayo i could be tempted to spend the £800.

Any comments/Advice would be well receieved!!

Comments

• gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    might be worth looking into the geometry of the focus bikes vs. ones you like and know fit.

If you test ride a bike with similar geometry - make specific note of the seattube length, equivalent (horizontal) top-tube length along with headset height (the second two measurements are more important than the seattube as the seatpost can easily be raised / lowered)

If you find a bike that you are comfy on, and the geometry is similar to the focus then you are sorted.