Road or Hybrid Bike

acanning
acanning Posts: 3
edited December 2007 in Road beginners
Dear All

I’m not sure whether I’ve posted this in the correct forum so apologies if I’ve got it wrong!

I’m new to cycling and want to buy a bike for mainly road use but would like to occasionally head off the beaten track down pathways and through woods etc. I won’t be covering huge distances although one of my mates wants us to enter a London to Paris event so I may have to start training!

However, I’m not sure what kind of bike would suit me best. I’ve had a look at a Specialized Sirrus but it seems to have very thin tyres which might be okay for the road but not so good when I venture off road. Can the tyres be changed and would the wheels be strong enough? Also, the roads around us aren’t great (typical British B roads) so I’m wondering whether something like the Sirrus would be suitable anyway.

Would I be better with a Hybrid type bike such as a Merlin Malt or possibly a Scott Sportster P1 which looks nice in the pictures! These appear to look tougher but what would they be like on the road?

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    IMO a cross bike would be better than a hybrid for light off roading. Better on and off the road than a hybrid.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr