Going Hairless

django5
django5 Posts: 4
edited January 2008 in XC and Enduro
Hello. I'm new to cross country and mountain biking in general, so I wondered if you could tell me why cross country riders shave/wax their legs, and possibly arms etc.? I've not noticed riders from other disciplines doing this. Is there some special reason for it in XC?
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601
    Bunches of reasons people give for shaving or not. Just too numerous to mention
    or even try to list them all. Most do it, I would guess, because the pros do it and
    they want that look. I do it because my wife tells me not to and I'm man enough to make
    up my own mind. Right dear? I'm looking forward to reading the replies to this one. This
    could go on and set some kind of Bike Radar Forum record for numder of hits and
    replies.

Dennis Noward
  • Shaving your body has no benefit at all except if you are a silverback gorilla. The aerodynamic benefits are non existant and it is one of the sad links to the "roadie" world. If you feel you are creating too much "drag" then get out and ride more to lose some weight and I am sure the hair will just drop off due to either fright or wipeouts if you are hardcore enough! Happy new year.
    Cannondale Prophet MX
  • I thought it was only for the pro's, so it would be easier and less painful to have sore legs massaged by their phisyos...
  • clas
    clas Posts: 187
    Shaved legs? I never understood it and think it looks pretty effeminate. Me? just call me "coconut matting"
    I never touched it! It was broke when I got here.
  • Chaka Ping
    Chaka Ping Posts: 1,451
    I thought it was for ease of medical treatment if you fell off and got the kind of abrasive injury that a tumble on the tarmac is likely to cause (in the case of roadies).

Perhaps I'm wrong though, and it's more about the feel of lycra on bare skin?
  • dav1
    dav1 Posts: 1,298