2008 Specialized Allez Elite

Max_Man
Max_Man Posts: 185
edited December 2007 in Road beginners
I'm just about to buy a 2008 Specialized Allez Elite as a late Christmas present.

Has anyone got any opinions on this bike, good or bad?

Would it be £800 well spent, I'm new to the sport so still only going on what others are telling me and what I can read up on.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    it's a nice bike! - very smart looking and a good light alloy frame with carbon stays and forks to take some of the buzz out of the road. 105 spec is decent but the bike might benefit from an upgraded set of wheels (as would every bike at the £800 mark!)

also - the allez has a good geometry (IMO) with a slighty higher head tube than some to add a bit of comfort on long rides.

at that price, I can't think of anything else i'd rather have, but thats a personal opinion.
  • Lagavulin
    Lagavulin Posts: 1,688
    I've got an Allez Sport from 2006 and while I didn't try the Giant SCR I think the Allez makes an excellent first road bike.

Specialized do seem to be lowering the groupsets. This years Elite is 9 speed Tiagra with a 105 rear mech (the same as my '06 Sport) where as the 2007 was 10 speed Shimano 105.

Mind you, the 2008 Elite does come with a compact chainset which will help you on the hills - something I wish I had on ocassions. :roll:

My only other gripe with the Allez is that it wont take full mud guards. I'm looking at a new bike and so would have relegated the Allez to winter and crappy weather rides but Raceblades aren't ideal (mine just chuck crap at the rear brake/brake caliper).
  • richa
    richa Posts: 1,631
    I bought an 2007 Allez Sport. Now wish I'd gone for something in Carbon such as a Focus Cayo (£999). Oh well.
    Rich
  • gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    hmm - yes - as above, you can actually still get a 2007 model cayo carbon with Ultegra for £799 from wiggle...