Bikes for Big Blokes

wheelbuckler
wheelbuckler Posts: 134
edited December 2007 in MTB beginners
Hi everyone, first timer so go easy.

I've been out with a few mates recently who ride a fair bit and i'm hooked, trouble is my bike at the minute is a crappy halfords special and its just not up to the job so i'm on the lookout for a decent beginners bike. The trouble is i'm a big guy, 6 foot 5 and a whopping 20 stone.

Is there a bike thats designed to cope with bigger riders or will a standard off the shelf do? As i'm a total novice i'm only wanting to spend between 250 -350 quid for a first time bike and i'm looking for a cross country/all mountain hardtail.

Any help would be great.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    sounds like need to talk toGT Destroyer he is of a similar stature.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • mr_hippo
    mr_hippo Posts: 1,051
    I am a bit shorter than you but a bit heavier. May I suggest the Trek 3900 22.5" at about £250. I've been using mine for about 2 years now with no problems!
  • Cheers mr_hippo, just for a bit more info can I ask what kind of riding you do on it, I want something that will cope well off road, planning a trip to lakes in summer and want to make sure it will cope with the terrain
  • nicklouse wrote:
    sounds like need to talk toGT Destroyer he is of a similar stature.

Here I am!

Hi there - I am 6ft 7inches tall and about 18 1/2 stones in weight, so Nick is quite correct.

I started out on a XL framed GT Avalanche 1.0 disc. Now that bike retails for £500 or just under for the 2007 model. The thing here is that the frame worked OK-ish for me, I did manage to crack the frame of an '06 model BUT thats because we weren't really using the bike for its purpose.