Does it take more effort to ride a fixie?

OS 65
OS 65 Posts: 415
edited December 2007 in Road beginners
Hi There
I've been riding a fixed wheel bike for the last 3 months and I've been wondering if a rider
on a fixed wheel bike needs to ride as far as a rider on a geared bike to get the same kind of work out?

For instance. Could A fixie rider go out for 2 hours and get the same workout and benefits as a rider on a geared bike riding for 3 hours?

OS 65

Comments

• graeme_s-2
    graeme_s-2 Posts: 3,382
    I don't know about any exact ratio (and it would depend on the route), but I think broadly speaking you get a better workout for the same route on a fixed gear than you would on a geared bike.
  • Gav2000
    Gav2000 Posts: 408
    I have been riding a fixed geared bike recently and have done a few trial circuits on geared and fixed bikes to compare. According to my HRM a circuit that burns about 800 calories on a geared bike burns almost 1,000 on a fixed bike, thats about 25% more on a fixed bike. This is a rolling countryside circuit which I ride in my normal fashion on the geared bike (i.e. freewheeling and getting my breath back as required). I also end up with a higher average heart rate on fixed as there is no chance of the same rest.

This isn't very scientific but it's a guide I guess. I'm using a fixed bike as much as I can during the winter as my rides are generally shorter so I'm trying to maximise the workout.

Gavin.
    Gav2000

Like a streak of lightnin' flashin' cross the sky,
    Like the swiftest arrow whizzin' from a bow,
    Like a mighty cannonball he seems to fly.
    You'll hear about him ever'where you go.
  • OS 65
    Thanks for the responses, very interesting

I too have been riding a fixed to try and compensate for my lack time to train. I've been hoping that my short (2.5 hours) but more intense fixed riding would mean that come the racing season I might be able to get away with not having done steady 4 our rides...