how long does a chain last?

ARob
ARob Posts: 143
edited December 2007 in Road beginners
just got my bike serviced at my LBS. had done 1200 miles since new and this was the first service. they changed the chain and rear gears becasue this was 'due', but the old ones aren't noticably different when i got it back. it cost me £80 which is hard at this time of year so wondering if this was money well spent.

is a chain/ gear change just a routine or do they usually wear out after so many miles? what are the signs of a worn chain for next time and how often should they be changed?

Comments

• feel
    feel Posts: 800
    WELL - as a complete beginner i'm afraid i haven't a clue, sorry :oops:

some one more experienced will be along in a minute, if not post it on the Know how board
    We are born with the dead:
    See, they return, and bring us with them.
  • ademort
    ademort Posts: 1,924
    What type of chain and gears did you have, even with the cheapest group you should certainly get more than 1200 miles from the chain, as for the gears they should be good for much longer. I have a tiagra group on my work bike, have ridden 12000Km plus and still have the same chain and gears.What type of bike do you have and who are your LBS
    ademort
    Chinarello, record and Mavic Cosmic Sl
    Gazelle Vuelta , veloce
    Giant Defy 4
    Mirage Columbus SL
    Batavus Ventura
  • Smokin Joe
    Smokin Joe Posts: 2,706
    I assume you mean the chain and sprockets. 1200 miles for a chain is sensible, but unless you have been unlucky the sprockets should last for three chains. The industry advice is too change the chain and sprockets together, but that is way over-cautious (and profitable for them).
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    Looks like they saw you coming.....

£80 just for the parts? or parts and labour? What groupset do you have?
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601