Hi

Apologies for the stupid title :)

But honestly Im not sure what kind of kit the rest of you wear

Im a novice

I spent 70 quid on the following earlier this year:

As you can see its a jersey not a jacket

Its wind and shower proof

With a base layer its toasty when its getting down to zero

Sorry again for the duff question but if this does all the above, like keep me warm and dry in a shower, then why should I spend more on a 'jacket?'

Thanks

Comments

• I have one pair of bib-longs for winter riding. The rest of my kit is pretty much all summer kit which i just layer up on those chilly days. Whack on some armwarmers and some overshoes and i'm set.

I do have one of these incase it is raining large-Cross-Waterproof.jpg. It is good, but it feels a bit like boil in the bag, so it rarely gets put on. I do keep it in my back pocket just in case though!!

I never really bother with thicker jerseys cos i think i'd get way too hot, but if the one you've already got keeps you dry in a shower and the wind off you then i wouldn't bother going another step for a 'jacket'; even with my waterproof on i get soaked (after while in the rain it just ends being a windbreak), i think it's impossible to stay dry when it's really peeing down...
    "Bite off more than you can chew, and chew like hell!!"
  • pw1brown
    pw1brown Posts: 243
    If you're going on long rides (a few hours) in winter, a waterproof jacket is a must, in my view. Even if the wet creeps in, the jacket still helps keep you warm inside it. Basically, I agree with Nickodemus's advice to use extra layers as you need them.
  • John C.
    John C. Posts: 2,113