Riding on the drops?

muz250
muz250 Posts: 95
edited December 2007 in Road beginners
I cant get the same power when cycling on the drops as apose to sitting more up write, is this normal?. I know the drops give you a better airo position but should it come at the expence of power.

I,d only been riding on the drops when going down hill and didnt find it a problem, but I have a turbo trainer now and when I spend time on the drops I definatly have to work harder and its realy the only time that I actualy feel like am working my lower legs (calfs).
I am still very new to road bike riding, And I expect this will get better, but just woundering if maby Iv not got the best set up.

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    muz250 wrote:
    I cant get the same power when cycling on the drops as apose to sitting more up write, is this normal?

I've never done a scientific study but:

On the flat and downhill I go faster on the drops - probably an aero factor

Ascending - I find I go quicker using the hoods - I'm more vertical and there's more weight over the back wheel.

As the aero factor doesn't apply on the turbo I don't think it's a fair comparision, as road speed is not necessarily proportional power (gradient, aero factor, etc)
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • I always find I can push a slightly bigger gear on the drops for some reason. My cadence drops a little but I fidn i'm usually going faster than I would be on the hoods.
    "A cyclist has nothing to lose but his chain"

PTP Runner Up 2015
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    muz250 wrote:
    I cant get the same power when cycling on the drops as apose to sitting more up write, is this normal?