A tent for all seasons...

Eyeball Tickler
Eyeball Tickler Posts: 86
edited December 2007 in Tour & expedition
Hi folks,

I'm currently looking for a tent for cycle touring. I need something for four seasons, 2-3 person, that is reasonably light (though I'm not a lightweight freak).

I'm planning to do some touring in the Rockies next summer, so I really need something that can hold up in potentially serious weather. Does anyone have any suggestions?

The Hilleberg Nammath and Nallo have been suggested to me - they are quite expensive though. My biggest issue is that while I could probably afford a serious expedition tent like a Nammatj come next summer, I have a few trips planned early in the new year and need a new tent NOW.

So I have two options: Buy one tent now and one later, or try to find something within my budget now that will work well in all weather and last a long time.

I'm a total novice when it comes to tent purchasing, so looking at specs on websites means almost nothing to me.

Some of these Vango tents are within my price range - does anyone have any experience of them?

http://www.vango.co.uk/products/tentsle ... ypename=15

If it's a case though that I'd better off waiting until I can afford a serious tent such as a Hilleberg, I'll be looking for a good four season tent that's up to dealing with UK weather. Again, suggestions here would be really appreciated.

Thanks,

Lenny

PS I might stick this up on the CycleChat forum as well, just thought I should mention it.

Comments

• mazza
    mazza Posts: 52
    i would buy the best tent i could aford rather than buying a cheap tent then having to buy a better tent later ive seen many times the weather turn bad very quickly and tents in the camp site demolished in the middle of the night the one thing i would always look for is metal poles becouse the plastic or fiber poles break far to easy