Some advice Please

WaterMonkey
WaterMonkey Posts: 62
edited December 2007 in MTB rides
Hello

I'm off to Coed Y Brenin in January for a weekend of riding... I'm not a riding newbie, but this is my first time going for a PROPER ride (serious trails!!)

Can I have some advice on what kit (other than my wheels, helmet, gloves and other standard kit) I will be likely to need to have a good, crazy but safe weekend?

WM

Comments

• 38 views - no replies...?

Does anybody know something?????
  • Just your usual stuff.

Spare tubes
    Tool kit
    Waterproof
    Something warm
    Water

The usual stuff you take when riding
  • oh.... right.... D'OH!

what about shin / knee guards? Would SPD's be alright or are flatty's better?

Thanks for the reply sam1234
  • jbford
    jbford Posts: 101
    Flats forever!!

If your thinkin of going for it and having fun on unfamiliar trails I'd say always wear arm and knee protection.

other than that the usual, if out for a full days XC ride I take:

First Aid pack
    Waterproof(s)
    Spare Base / Mid layer & socks
    Trail tool
    Inner tube
    Puncture repair kit
    Pump (Suspension as well)
    Food/ Energy bars
    Drinks
    Torch and/or Bike Light
    Zipties (always handy)
    Spare brake lever
    Good eyewear
    Gloves
    Money
    Mobile Phone
    Dog treats/ Food
    Collapsable dog bowls
    Doggie bags

I've probably missed something out! :shock: Never realised until I wrote it down how much I take.
  • :shock: Wow... That's more like it !!!

Thanks very much.... I best get down the shops !!
  • z000m
    z000m Posts: 544
    cat biscuits taste better than doggy treats
  • Chaka Ping
    Chaka Ping Posts: 1,451
    Don't skimp on grub, those hills can make you very hungry!
  • I would say SPD's anyday the trails wont be that scary.
  • z000m
    z000m Posts: 544
    a swiss army knife i find is always handy