Winter Cycling!

Commuter_2000
Commuter_2000 Posts: 156
edited December 2007 in Road beginners
Hi,

This is my first year Winter cycling, and wondered what I can expect from other road users?

I'm still loathed nearly a year after a car crash to use busier roads (i.e, the busier A roads - it's that or go across fields). I ride a recumbent trike, and have found that 99% of the time drivers will give me a good distance when overtaking, but it is faster traffic I'm particularly worried about.

Do you find vehicles see you OK (particularly around dusk)? I've got two tail lights (one BS standard, the other a brighter LED light) and a good bright head light, but still don't feel visible enough, particularly to the rear (I also wear a reflective yellow/orange day-glow jacket).

Thanks in advance for any advice! :)

Best regards,
Commuter_2000.

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    As well as the lights, get some self-adhesive retro-reflective stickers - there are far more visibile that hi-vis materials as they light-up in headlights. It's also worth putting reflectives around your ankles and around your wheel rims - like flashing lights, the eye is more inclined to register a moving/flashing object than a static one. If you're really worried about rearward visibility, get something like a Dinotte rear light - I don't care whether it's legal or not - I'd rather be seen than dead!
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • Here in Sweden kids get towed around to preschool etc in trailers quite often. A fibreglass pole with a dayglo orange flag on and mounted to the rear of the trailer makes them very visible as it pops up above the traffic and flaps about - very eye catching. I agree with monty dog - look like an effing Christmas tree if that what it takes
  • look like an effing Christmas tree if that what it takes
    :lol::lol: