To join or not to join?????

dogllabtoof
dogllabtoof Posts: 52
edited November 2007 in Road beginners
Im new to riding, and plan on getting myself fit over the winter.

The question i have is should i be looking to join a club in the summer?

Im not sure that i want to ride in a competative environment, i would just like someone to ride with.

I know this is a very broad question, but are clubs generaly aimed at racing or do they have a social side to them?

Im based in the teesside area if anyone has any experience of clubs in this area.

Thanks

Comments

• Smokin Joe
    Smokin Joe Posts: 2,706
    Most clubs tend to be race orientated, especially during the summer months. If you are interested in strictly non-competitive riding look on the CTC website and they should be able to point you in the direction of your local section. They are generally knowledgeable and helpful riders, and CTC membership does also bring other benefits such as legal aid and cheap cycle insurance.
  • Ste_S
    Ste_S Posts: 1,173
    Any club that's affiliated to BC (that's worth it's salt) will have a steady run that's run at the pace of the slowest rider.

See here for a list of clubs in your area :-

http://www.britishcycling.org.uk/web/site/BC/clu/cluClubFinder.asp
  • willbevan
    willbevan Posts: 1,241
    I've just started riding with my local club about 3 weeks ago....

There rides over the winter are just social, start together finish together, great bunch! Wait for everyone at the top of the nasty hills, always happy to give advice to newbies like myself.

I was lucky i was coming from running(injureD) so i could jump on a bike and ride 15 miles without a problem with no previous cycling (well unles you count nasty hills im very slow up)

But i would contact your local sooner rather than later, never know what they do off season, i know my club is rather race oriented once the season starts again!
    Road - BTwin Sport 2 16s
    MTB - Trek Fuel 80
    TT - Echelon