New to road bikes...

guinea
guinea Posts: 1,177
edited November 2007 in Road beginners
Hi all. I'm new to this road cycling lark. I used to be very much into mountain miking and used to do a fair bit of it though the 90s. Unfortunately I haven't been cycling as much as I should have been over the years and put on a huge amount of weight. I was always a big bloke, but I played rugby and cycled up mountains so I stayed fit. Then I moved to London, sat behind a desk and got fat.

Earlier this year I decided to shed my gut. I bought a new moutnain bike as a treat and have used it most days to get to work. I wanted one as good as my old kit, so went for a Cannondale F1. It has a lefty fork which I've lusted after since they came out. I've put about 50 mile a week on the bike in commuting and the odd random cycle.

I'm 6'2" and my starting weight was 24 stones and 6 pounds. After a lot of hard work I am now 14 stones and 10 pounds and the weight is still flying off me.

I've reassessed my goals in the previous weks and decided to live out a dream that I might be able to get up Alpe d'Huez, Venoux or Galibier. I've watched the tour for years transfixed in awe as these guys powered up there. So I've decided to go for it and start training for a run at the Alpe. I've a bet with a mate (for charity) - he says I can't do it. However, I think I can.

I've decided I wanted to do it on a road bike, so I bought one. Not knowing much about them I got the sexiest one in the shop. It's a Wilier Mortirolo. I got it with a compact 50-34.

So, I am still overweight and have absolutely no fitness or stamina whatsoever, but I have a goal. Right now I struggle up the smallest of hills in granny gear. It's going to be a hell of a lot of hard work, but I'm feeling pretty motivated right now.

Comments

• guinea wrote:
    I'm 6'2" and my starting weight was 24 stones and 6 pounds. After a lot of hard work I am now 14 stones and 10 pounds and the weight is still flying off me.