Most Cost Efficient Upgrade

snohooper
snohooper Posts: 16
edited November 2007 in Road beginners
Hi,

I recently purchased a Schwinn Super Sport as it was the best road bike that I could find in my price range. I have been riding for about 3 months now and its been a great entry level road bike. What is the most efficient part upgrade I could make (cost vs. performance) at this point?

Thanks.

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    It's probably going to be wheels.......depending on what you've got already.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    A pair of light(ish) wheels can make a bike feel totally different. Well worth splooshing out £300-£400 on a decent pair IME.
  • top_bhoy
    top_bhoy Posts: 1,424
    Is it worth spending 300-400 quid on a pair of wheels (or any other component for that matter) on an entry level bike? That must be near the cost of the complete bike I would have thought. IMO, unless parts genuinely need replaced through damage, etc., I'd simply enjoy the bike as it is currently configured and avoid upgardes for the moment. Save the money you'd have spent on upgrading and put it towards a replacement bike which is more suited to what you're looking for.
  • Tyres!

Most entry level bikes come with cheapo tyres. Get some Conti GP4000s or Michelin Pro2s (or whichever top end tyre takes your fancy) and you won't believe the difference. This time of year you might prefer to look at something a little tougher like the Conti 4 Seasons though.

Look at ribblecycles.co.uk for some idea of decent prices.

Ed
  • Bronzie
    Top_Bhoy wrote:
    Is it worth spending 300-400 quid on a pair of wheels (or any other component for that matter) on an entry level bike?