rock shox reba sl question

kev2b3
kev2b3 Posts: 159
edited September 2008 in MTB beginners
hi all
i am a complete beginner to mtb. i have just recently bought a fantastic second hand bike . the guy i bought it off advised me to increase the air pressure in the forks due to me being a heavy set person. i have looked over the forks and the table on the side of the forks recommend 160 psi. the question may sound daft to you but is it the case that all i have to do is buy a pump for the forks and just pump them up. second daft question one side of the forks is the valve for the pump the other side is a dampner,what is a dampner. third and last dull question,like i said there is a valve on one side of the forks. so how does the air get around to the otherside of the forks when bieng pumped up.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    buy a pump and there is only an air spring on one side.

PS, www.sram.com and download a manual.

and you will see a valve on the top and botton of the left leg.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • How do,

I'm also a bit of a newbie to all this, I've got a pair of Reba's as well. What's written below's been said a bit more succinct by Nicklouse but for what it's worth...

The dual air means that you can pump them from the top and the bottom of the fork (you want to be matching similar air pressure on top and bottom here), but it is only on the same side side. You were right, the other side's totally for damping and rebound. No air pressure there, or at least that you pump into it.

If you can get hold of a pump, have a play, and yeah, it really is that easy. I'm proper brain-dead but I can work a shock pump.