What training do I need for a long ride, 100 miles + ?

BigLee1
BigLee1 Posts: 449
edited November 2007 in Road beginners
How do folks :D
I was wondering today after speaking with a workmate who has done the Fred Whitton challenge, 114 miles over all the lake district passes, what training I would have to do to try it. I`ve just got back into road biking & try & get out as & when I can but usually only get a max , so far!, of 20 miles in the time I give myself, about an hour or so. I`m not a member of a cycling club & don`t really know anyone to train with as I work shifts & find it hard to get a regular traing partner! I should imagine doing something like this is the equivelent to marathon training for a runner.
So any tips for an absolute beginner?

BTW the bike is a `06 Trek Pilot 1.2 if thats any use :D

Cheers

Lee

Comments

• Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Although I have not ridden it myself, the Fred Whitton is widely regarded as probably the hardest sportive in the UK and is definitely not to be approached lightly! The climbs are as steep as any you'll find in the UK (1-in-3 in places). Check the route profile here (and weep!): http://www.cyclosport.org/article.aspx?id=139&eventid=5

To be able to achieve it, you'll want to be able to ride solo at least 80% of the distance over similar (very, very hilly terrain) by about 1 month before the event. I say 80% because in a sportive, you'll be drafting behind over riders for at least some of the time which helps both with motivation and reducing energy expended.

So that would be around 90 miles of very hilly riding, which I'd expect to take you 6-8 hours. So your target by early April is to ride 6-8 hours over hilly terrain with minimal stops and not be a basket case at the end of it.