Pedals & Shoes for new roadie...

bossman13
bossman13 Posts: 106
edited October 2007 in Road beginners
have just ordered my first ever road bike (giant scr2) which should be arriving in the next few days now :D

gonna be using mainly for commuting 25m a day but also contemplating the odd dunfermline cc saturday run which i have just read about on another thread1

Not sure if my bike will come with pedals or not, but irrespective i am eager to get into this whole clipless thingy as have read/heard good things. This will of course also require some new shoes too as currently pushing along with just trainers.

can anyone recommend some good pedals & shoes for a total novice pls..

The pedals need to be relatively easy to use to limit the number of standing falls i anticipate! I would also like shoes that are perhaps not out-and-out racing shoes but which look a bit more comfortable and can be walked on ok if required.

would like some change for £100 if possible having bought both. Ebay seems to have some good deals for pedals too...thoughts?

Comments

• Eat My Dust
    Eat My Dust Posts: 3,965
    I've always used SPD SL's which I wouldn't change. It depends on how much walking in them you inted to do, SPD SL's are really sh_t for walking in, I had to walk 3 miles in a pair once and it took me ages!!! I'm sure somone can reccomend a pair of MTB type of shoe and pedal, which I know a lot of people prefer.

Where are you commuting to? I really wished I had taken up road biking when I lived in Dunfermline, lots of nice places for decent runs. When I was a kid I remember trying to cycle from Rosyth to Canmore Golf Club (I lived there when I was a kid), it used to kill me and my friends, although coming down used to be fun. I can remember flying down Pilmuir Street on my Golden Mongoose BMX with 2 friends standing on the front and back pegs, terrorising the motorists!!!!!! Happy (but stupid) days!!!!
  • irb10
    irb10 Posts: 32