Hills

sparrowlegs78
sparrowlegs78 Posts: 2,583
edited October 2007 in MTB general
Ok ..i am new at this MTB lark :oops: and i am really struggling with the hills!!! living here in Lancs its impossible to go anywhere without climbing, so i am wondering is there a technique to climbing? :oops: i usually end up in the granny gears with me legs going like the clappers but still breathing and sweating like a pig :oops: .
I am a 29 yr old female returning to biking after discovering the engined kind of bike goes faster lol.
Many thanks for hints and tips.. Caz x

Comments

• milese
    milese Posts: 1,233
    Make sure your saddle is high enough so that your knee is almost straight on the longest part of the stroke.

Keep at it, it will get easier!
  • My saddle is deffo a tad low......i'll adjust that...thanx :D
  • benneally
    benneally Posts: 973
    Try and keep ur cadence at about 90rpm, this is apparently the most efficient way of cycling. Also believe u can beat the hill! lol I think hill climbing is mind over matter and so think positive and its easy.
  • Bromski
    Bromski Posts: 239
    Hi Sparrow

I'm the same age but 2 years down the line.

You know the answer to this one really don't you - practice and more practice.

The hills do get easier, but then you will start to do them faster...so they still hurt!

Over time you will, probably without noticing, find that you can cruise up most hills and that you're doing it in the middle ring.

My advice would be this - don't change down too early in advance of a hill. Change down smoothly when you feel that you arent going to be able to keep the cranks turning.

Try to pedal in full circles - easier if you use clipless pedals, and then you can pull up on each stroke too.

I once read an article written by some xc pro that said he thinks about light things - e.g. imagines he's a hot air balloon. Never worked for me but, hey...

The good thing about hills - they always lead to a downhill.
  • Andy B