carbon frames?

farmer_giles
farmer_giles Posts: 39
edited October 2007 in MTB buying advice
Can anybody offer some advice regarding carbon frames. I have just looked on the halfords site and it appears they are producing a carbon mtb. called the titan for £1000.
Looks like a good bike, but I have no experience of this type of frame.

is it worth buying or would you go for something else? - I'm looking to spend 1000 max,

cheers

Comments

• Just found the details here:http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_370027_langId_-1_categoryId_106166

On paper it looks good,spec is reasonable,considering at £1000 is cheap for a carbon frame.Lower priced Carreras get good reviews,but not seen anything on this one before.

One to try,but if I was spending this money I'd probably stick with a Giant XTC,if I wanted a carbon frame.The C2 looks good for £1100.Well regarded and proven carbon frame, Fox F80 Forks,good spec.(see link below)

Bear in mind that to get a carbon framed bike for £1000 you will usually be making some kit compromises,against an equivalently priced aluminium bike.Good project bike for later upgrades though.

The C2,has me very tempted!

http://www.paulscycles.co.uk/products.php?plid=m1b4s2p1260
    2006 Giant XTC
    2010 Giant Defy Advanced
    2016 Boardman Pro 29er
    2016 Pinnacle Lithium 4
    2017 Canondale Supersix Evo
  • thanks. do you know though, how reliable the frames are? could I use them for propper XC? How solid is this type of frame?

cheers
  • That new carerra Looks sweet If you buy it on line you get 10% + 25 off the price so it comes in at £875 Does anyone know if the frames are still made by Merida and if so what are Merida carbon frames like ?

How comes Buying an MTB is so hard these days theres just so much to choose from Arrggghhhhhh
  • majocs
    majocs Posts: 4