Am I Missing Out

Max_Man
Max_Man Posts: 185
edited October 2007 in Road beginners
I've been seriously looking at getting my first road bike and been to all my local LBS's numerous times and usually see the same assistants in the shop's....now, it's pretty simple to see that I'm a complete novice and need all the help I can get and to be fair they always chat away and give me a bit of advice but I never come away knowing exactly what size frame I need and whether the thing is going to fit me right. Also I've never been offered a test ride and no-one has really tried to get a bike to fit me right in the shop...should I be getting this service?, am I being fobbed off with the bare minimum?

Please comment on what service you receive from a local shop when trying to get a new bike.

Cheer's

Comments

• fizz
    fizz Posts: 483
    I found that by browsing around it doesnt really help you, your best bet is to go up to an assitant and say

I have cash to spend, I want a bike, but I dont know what size frame I need, I'm going to use it for x,y and z and can you help get the bike fitted t oyou. If they are a LBS thats any good and their staff are trained properly they'll help you, if they dont after that, go to a different LBS.

if you just ask a series of random open ended questions you wont get anywhere, so think about what you want help with and then get stuck in. If you're not confident and a bit bewildered by the process then write a list down on a bit of paper before you go into the shop.
  • scapaslow
    scapaslow Posts: 305
    My experience is that LBS's are extremely variable in respect of their service when buying a bike. Your description matches my experience.