Bikes on public transport... your take?

Kuruhuhu
Kuruhuhu Posts: 4
edited October 2007 in Commuting chat
Hi everyone!

I am a Product Design student whose final your project is based around cyclists and public transport.

I would to know any experiences you have with public transport, the good, the bad and the ugly so to speak.

I also believe that uncertainty has a part to play on whether you take your bike to the bus / train station incase there isnt sufficient storage or if the bus / train is too full. Would you agree or disagree with this statement?

Any feedback you give me would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks!

Iain

Comments

• hamboman
    hamboman Posts: 512
    It seems an increasingly common trend for train co.s to ban bikes from peak services. I understood the government was keen to promote green transport, so why are train operators not forced to take bikes? It's currently discretionary but this needs to change.
  • graeme_s-2
    graeme_s-2 Posts: 3,382
    Uncertainty is a huge problem. If I could walk into a train station with my bike, and know that I'd be able to get onto any train with my bike, then I think that would drastically increase the amount I use trains.

There was a letter in either C+ or Cycle (the CTC's in house magazine) in the last few months from a guy who'd been planning to go on a cycling holiday with his family. They were planning to get the train from where they lived to the area they were going to go cycling in. There were 4 of them, all with bikes. They spoke to the appropriate rail operator, and were told they'd only be allowed 2 bikes on any one service and they'd have to be booked in advance. There were only 2 services a day to where they wanted to go, so that would have basically meant an extra day of waiting around at stations at either end of the holiday to get all 4 of them in the same place. It's madness!