Is it time???

Southfields climber
edited October 2007 in MTB beginners
Hi all quick'ish question?

Used to do a lot of Kite Buggying, when i first started everybody used to say you need to get harnesed to your kite :x , There was no way i wanted to be strapped to a kite lifting me of the deck i thought, eventually i changed my mind and what a transformation to flying this made. 8)

My question is concerning clip in pedal's (i am new to this game ) will this make a dramatic difference to my off road fun? if so how quickly should i be changing to them? What type do i need to be looking at?

Many thanks in advance.

Comments

• All depends on the type of riding really,

Fire roads, mild-ish XC runs, yes, it's worth doing and you will feel a benefit simply because you will be applying pressure to the pedal all the way around the revolution rather than just half way. Also makes a difference on climbing hills for me.

Pedals, a huge choice, Shimano, Time or Crank Brothers are fave's. Shoes are a touch more personal, always best to try them on as the sizes are somewhat different and do make sure whichever shoe and pedal combo you get, they are compatible....otherwise :oops:

Once you do change to them, a bit of practice getting out of them on some soft grass will see you right, once your off and riding, forward planning and unclipping before you have to is generally the safest way.

Some Shimano pedals come with tension adjusters which can be slackened off until the easiest turn of your foot will get you out of them, once your used to them (and after a while, it becomes second nature to clip out) you can tighten them up.
    Cycle tracks will abound in Utopia. ~H.G. Wells

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x42/ ... 3Small.jpg
  • redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922