first multiday tour

ARob
ARob Posts: 143
edited October 2007 in Road beginners
i'm planning myfirst mutliday tour for next summer to France from Kent. have never done more than 50 miles in a day before and this will be 3 days x 70 miles.

i'd be really greatful for any tips anyone has on how to do this!

is it essential/ usual to get someone to carry the kit or can you do this yourself? if so what should we take?

what about training before hand?

how best to plan the route and where do you get route info from?

where is good to get custom kit to help promote the funraising?

is there anythign else that anyone who has done this sort of thing would think essential that a total newbe might not think about!

how much is this going to hurt?!

any advice will really help!

Comments

• Which part of France are you aiming for? I live in Maidstone and I'd love to cycle to Paris one day. From what I've seen and read I think it would be a lot easier if you had a back up driver just in case. If you've cycled 50 miles before I don't think the extra 20 miles would be too hard for you with practice. I've only been cycling for fun for a couple of months and I did 70 miles last Sunday so it's definitely possible.

Good luck

FCN : 4
  • ARob
    ARob Posts: 143
    well to Beauvais actually.

a group of us from Maidstone Borough Council are going to make the trip and thats our twin town.

you'd be very welcome to come to i'm sure!

probably thinking June at this stage
  • Sounds exciting. Keep posting on here as you get more details.

FCN : 4
  • dannygcp
    dannygcp Posts: 151
    I recently did a 3 x 60 mile tour carrying two panniers with change of clothes, food, spares, etc.

It was a doable distance, but I was surprised at how tired I was at the end of each day, and by the end of the three days I was well and truly knackered! Like you I was used to regularly cycling distances of 50 miles per day.