bike lights again

gjack
gjack Posts: 11
edited October 2007 in Road beginners
i am new to biking only just learned after 15 years of trying, can anybody tell me if the lights in the link are fine to use on the bike,

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/p ... 333561.htm

Comments

• RufusA
    RufusA Posts: 500
    They'd probably be okay BUT!

I don't know enough about that particular model to give a definite opinion. Personally I'd suggest getting some known lights from an LBS or online. Cateye, Smart, Blackburn etc. are all well respected as LED lights.

Things to consider are:

a) Do the lights have a variety of mounts - will they fit your bike.
    b) Can you get them off easily - quick release clips.
    c) Are they secure - or will they bounce off when you hit a pothole.
    d) How waterproof are they - will the switch etc. fail in heavy rain?
    e) How easy is it to change the batteries - without tools?
    f) Will the front light be sufficient for your purposes - there's a big difference between front lights to be seen, and lights to see by.

etc.

If it's any help I went for a Smart light set from an LBS for not much more than than the Argos price, which ticks all the right boxes except the last one. Rear 1/2 watt - super bright, and front 5 led "polaris".

HTH - Rufus.
  • gjack
    thanks for your help will go and find a lbs near me to see if i can get some better quality lights
  • gjack

Those Argos lights will allow you to been seen and with reasonable battery life. However, the headlight will not shine a beam on the road/trail ahead. These lights allow you to be seen but not to see by.

Bye far the most popular headlight sets at reasonable cost is the Smart BL201. They will light up the road ahead and allow you to see quite well. The easiest/cheapest place to get get is on-line, on eBay from St.John Street Cycles in a auction or Buy-it-Now like: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SMART-RECHARGEABL ... 0156568173