Cycling from Uni. of Edinburgh to Uni. of York

juanjaime
juanjaime Posts: 6
edited September 2007 in Road beginners
Hey guys,

I am going to cycle down to York from Edinburgh in Mid October but I have never done serious road biking before. Is there any nice route (with less traffic) and what would I need for the trip (clothing, food, emergency etc).

thanks,
Juanjaime
javascript:emoticon(':roll:')
Rolling Eyes

Comments

• toontra
    toontra Posts: 1,160
    For the route go to Audax UK site and look for the LEL (London-Edinburgh-London) route. Use that as a basis, and then alter it slightly to get from Barnard Castle to York.

I've done this route a few times (including a detour to York) and it is extremely picturesque and, for the most part, very quiet (miles without seeing a car), but all on road. In fact it's one of my favourite journeys, especially going through Eskdalemuir (stop for tea at the Samye Ling temple cafe!) and the borders, and the amazing Pennines through Alston, etc.

a serious case of small cogs
  • nolf
    nolf Posts: 1,287
    Hello,

No idea not being familiar with the area, but i'm going off to study at York Uni as well, are you going to study there?

As for what you need for the trip- well bear in mind this trip would be a few days (unless you're very fit!) so whatever you need to stay overnight at a Youth Hostel or B&B (For me it's a bit cold to go camping).

For on the road- puncture repair kit, spare inner tubes, coat for when it rains :), maps for the whole route. Consider getting a handlebar bag with a map holder so that you don't need to keep stopping and getting your map out.

If you are going to York Uni which course you doing?
    "I hold it true, what'er befall;
    I feel it, when I sorrow most;
    'Tis better to have loved and lost;
    Than never to have loved at all."

Alfred Tennyson
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789