What bike should i get

Alpinestar193
Alpinestar193 Posts: 18
edited October 2007 in MTB beginners
I'm just getting into the whold moutain biking thing and i was just wondering what the best bike would be to get.
ive looked at a few and got my eye on a specialized hardrock and just wondering if it would be able to handle it or will i need a full suspension

Comments

• You've posted twice. :? If youre a first time beginner to MTB then idealy you'll want a hardtail. Dont go buying a full suss unless you have learned basic an advanced skills on a hardtail. It takes time to learn how to ride a hardtail. Whats youre budget for a new bike? :)
    Learn on a Hardtail or be crap forever!
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Also have a read of the what bike thread in the general section.
  • About £350. any recomendations?
  • Mongoose Tyax Elite? 270ish

Mongoose Tyax Super? Not sure but 300ish. (Hydro brakes and some better parts)

You can tell what bikes I like ;).
    Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Elite 2010
    Mongoose Tyax Elite 2007
    Carrera Limited Edition TDF

Full suspension - King of the forest!

If anyone rides in Sulham Wood give me a shout :).
  • interesting thanks
    and good spots you know around surrey for a begginer as such
  • also i think you like GT bikes lol :D
  • interesting thanks
    and good spots you know around surrey for a begginer as such

Yeah there great bikes!

Umm, no sorry mate I live in Reading myself.
    Mongoose Tyax Elite 2007

• another newbie question
    what else will i need?
  • Helmet.

Mudguards if your worried about your look. I might be buying some later...

Gloves (I have just purchased them there great!)

That's it really... As you noticed you don't really need any of these.
    Mongoose Tyax Elite 2007

• supersonic
    You need to try the bike first to make sure you like it and get the right size. Same for a helmet. Get some basic tools, oil, cleaners and a hydropak.
  • omblae
    omblae Posts: 206