Lands End to John O'Groats next year - help?

mikegtfc
mikegtfc Posts: 21
edited October 2007 in Road beginners
Hello, I posted a while back about tackling LEJOG this Summer, but because it was so last minute we decided to plan properly and tackle it in Summer 2008. I'm really looking forward to it, problem being, I don't have a suitable bike at present.

Basically I need any help and advice possible. Anything relevant, jot it down.

On bikes, tourer or road bike?

Being a student I'm hardly blessed with a Roman Abrahmovich kitty of money, so I'll be looking for as cheaper option as possible, obviously trying to find a healty balance between price and performance, which isn't going to plunge me into crippling debt. The student fees are enough!

http://www.spacycles.co.uk/products.php?plid=m1b0s6p0

Are any of those adequate do you think? Obviously with a rack fitted?

Anyway, this is getting lengthy, anything to do with routes, must see sights, things to avoid, handy tips.. please help a rather novice bike!

Thanks in advance. :)

P.S. If this is in the wrong forum, please feel free to move it.

Comments

• Have you seen this book as it might help you,good luck with it.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bike-Britain-Cy ... 282&sr=1-5
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    I did the LEJOG in 2005 with 4 others from my club - a great experience with real "once-in-a-lifetime" moments. You can read about my experience of it (with route details) here:
    http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/bronzie/endtoend.htm

Our route was taken from a CTC guide suggesting 21 days, but we did it in 11 by doubling up the suggested stages - averaged 95 miles a day which was more than enough for us as we had a tandem with us which struggled on the climbs. We did cheat and had a van carrying all our kit for us each day.