Single speed?

Panter
Panter Posts: 299
edited September 2007 in The bottom bracket
Whats the attraction?

Please don't misunderstand the tone of this post, I'm a newbie to all things bike related and am just curious as to the attraction of a ss.
Is it right that a true ss can't freewheel either? sounds horrendous if true :lol:

As I say, purely curious. Maybe another aspect of cycling I need to get in to :oops: :lol:

Cheers

Chris :)
Racing snakes. It's not big, and it's not clever ;)

Comments

• ddraver
    ddraver Posts: 26,652
    fixies are...well...fixed as in can't freewheel, single sppeds hav only 1 gear

the attractions as far as i know (don't have the money for a suitable bike are -

better fitness (due to climbing in high gear)
    less maintainance
    off road - less problems with mud and wear, especially in winter

fixies

can back pedal to slow down, more effective than roadie brakes
    is well in with the courier chic at the moment
    fitness but even more so
    and some Zen like feeling as man and machine become one smooth glorious lovechild

to sum up - makes a boring smog filled london commute (or wherever) a little bit more fun
    We're in danger of confusing passion with incompetence
    - @ddraver
  • OK this is from a mountain bike perspective, not road (since why anyone want to ride an SS on the road is beyond me!)

The advantages of a SS are less maintenance. Where I live, in the winter mountain bike drive trains are just destroyed by the clay and mud. Riding a SS means these problems more or less go away - no broken rear mechs or clogged up front mechs. It's not even really necessary to clean the bike after a muddy outing either.

IMO the fitness aspect of SS is rubbish. The fact is, yes you have to work hard on climbs but the rest of the time you're just spinning out.
  • passout
    passout Posts: 4,425