I'm not competitive, but....

ahazon
ahazon Posts: 5
edited September 2007 in Road beginners
Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to road cycling and just joined this forum the oher day. Been reading some of the archive stuff and found it very useful when setting up my bike.

I Bought my first road bike about 2 weeks ago (claud butler san remo, just to see if i liked road bikes). prior to that i had been ridin g about a year on a hybrid, but only the 2 mile commute to & from work.

I went out for a long ride yesterday, ended up doing nearly 50 miles when I had only intended to do 30... I just wondered what sorts of speeds I should be getting, over the 50mile I had an average speed of 18.5mph, given that it was on windy hilly roads, I reckon that's ok... plus I was totally exhausted at the end... but for the first 25 miles or so my average speed was 23mph ish... max speed of 36mph.

Just wondered if i was fast, slow of average...

Feedback greatly appreciated.

Comments

• PhilofCas
    PhilofCas Posts: 1,153
    i'd check your speedo is correct, possibly running a tad fast.........?
  • Pagem
    Pagem Posts: 244
    the first part of your ride was fairly quick for a steady oouting. the second half was average.

good effort on the first ride though.
    Only the meek get pinched. The bold survive.
  • The good ol' average speed question again!! As usual the figures quoted seem pretty unrealistic. If your figures are correct it looks like a balls out effort for the first hour followed by a total collapse to give you the 18.5mph average for the whole ride. Indeed as PageM says (but probably didn't intend) the second half where your speed was considerably below 18.5mph is indeed average. Of course I could be mistaken and you are infact a cycling god! :D:wink:
    Still breathing.....