zasker

kev2b3
kev2b3 Posts: 159
edited September 2007 in MTB beginners
hi all
just to let you know i am completely new to mountain bikes but i have been using a carrera gryphon for the past 2 years for my daily commute to work. a few of my mates have just started cycling off road and i have decided to have a go. i have looked at a few bikes but i dont want to spend huge amounts of money on one just incase i dont take to the mountain bike scene. the bike that takes my fancy is the gt zasker and ebay have a few going. i just want to know which is the better model to go for. i have about £500 to spend on one.

Comments

• The GT Zaskar is a classic frame, was the original hardcore hardtail but I've looked on ebay and the complete bikes available at the mo leave a little to be desired. Are you intending to buy complete or build it yourself? Whats the intended usage for your bike? To be honest for £500 there would probably be better options available, Get back with some more details and we can make a more informed suggestion, oh, and read this. You could buy a better bike 2nd hand but the support from a bike shop when buying your 'first' bike can be very valuable.
  • kev2b3
    kev2b3 Posts: 159
    i have built a few racing bikes before so building up my first mtb may be a good option. ill use the bike off road mostly on the weekends and maybe as a change i could use it as my commute. i have also looked at the Klein Attitude. what do you think
  • To be honest building the bike yourself would go over your stated budget by a fair bit, a decent Zaskar frame would be at least £100, when you factor in suspension forks, wheels, the groupset, and of course the fiddly bits like bars, stem e.t.c. then £500 probably wouldn't buy stuff of suitable quality for the frame. The Klein is something I don't know too much about but they always look amazing and are reviewed well.

This Klein?