Fixed maintenance?

condorman
condorman Posts: 811
edited September 2007 in Road general
I've taken the plunge and have started riding a fixed for my commute. I thought the front wheel needed truing but then realised that the nuts were loose!

What sort of checks/maintenance should I be doing on a regular basis and should I use something like loctite thread glue on the wheel nuts or do I just need to do them up tighter and, if so, how tight? What about checking chain wear - is it the same as for a geared bike?

Sorry for the dumb questions but I'm enjoying riding fixed and would llike to continue doing so safely - grateful for any replies. I'm off to practice my trackstands ...
Condor Pista
50x16

Comments

• Dustine
    Dustine Posts: 184
    Im new to fixed riding, but my long experience of single speed riding suggests that you will get through chains far far faster than on a geared bike. Probably even more so since its stretching when youre braking with your legs too. Other than that my maintainance regime is the same for all my bikes- check the wheel nuts/QR are tight up (especially after the bike has been in the bike shed all day- you get some funny malicious beggars...), clean chain weekly, oil every few days depending on the weather, load headset with new grease twice yearly, true wheels/ adjust brakes as required. I commute 5 days a week, about 100 miles total, and stuff lasts ok. Im sure i could be more diligent, but then i also have a colleague who has cleaned his bike once since he bought it 18 months ago, and it still gets him to work....
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614