Problems with drafting

mea00csf
mea00csf Posts: 558
edited September 2007 in Road beginners
I'm just getting into road biking and am having problems with drafting.

I'm reasonable fitness and would like to be able to go on the local club runs and as my blokey is also a roadie (much better and more experienced than me!) i figured i'd practice drafting him first. Problem is......it makes me feel really, really queasy :shock: . I've tried focusing on different things, not focusing on anything, shifting my focus, head up, head down but can't seem to manage much more than 20-30 seconds before i have to break off due feeling incredibly sick.

Anyone else have this?? Am i a total freak? How did anyone get over it if you found this? I really daren't ride in a group without this sorted....

Comments

• matbe its just nerves cos you cant really see whats going on? or fear? not sure
    felix's bike

pedal like you stole something!!!
  • Looking at the top of the draftee's shoulders works for me.

Do you get car sick if you're not looking out the window of a car/bus, e.g. reading a book? My wife get queasy and needs to look out the car window. Map reading is a 'mare.
    Every winner has scars.
  • Maybe you're getting too close too soon. Try staying a bit further back to begin with so you can see where you're going, then once you start to get a bit more confidant try getting a little closer.
  • fossyant
    fossyant Posts: 2,549
    Follow the wheels - drop back enough not to come anywhere near the rear whilst being able to focus on the road ahead, out to the side etc.
  • drenkrom
    drenkrom Posts: 1,062