How often do you pump your shocks?

Dave F.
Dave F. Posts: 41
edited August 2007 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi
'07 Stumpy Expert.

This is my first time with air forks & shock so I'm looking for advice.

How often do you need to pump them up? The same as tyres?

If it is, can you recommend one to me?
I'm surprised they make hand held ones - I didn't think you'd be able to get enough pressure in them, unless, of course, you were Geoff Capes.

As the valves on my Foxes are schrader, is it possible to use the air pump down at my local petrol station? I'm not sure what pressure they go up to.

Any other tips/advice welcome.

Cheers
Dave F.

Comments

• Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    I check the pressure's in my forks & shock every few rides, or when it feels like I need more air.

Do not use an air pump like at the local garage, they are not designed for air forks/shocks, they are designed for large volumes of air & low pressures. there is a very high chance you will damage the forks/shock.

A good shock pump only costs about £20, you can easily get 300psi with a hand held shock pump, that's what they're designed to do, small volumes of air at high pressures
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    the manuals state before every ride.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Dave F.
    nicklouse wrote:
    the manuals state before every ride.

Nick
    And so that's what you do is it?

All manuals?

I've read the ones that came with the bike. About 60% of which was disclaimers & arse covering caveats to please the company lawyers.
    I'm after useful, real world advice advice from people who've had experience.

Do you have any to give?

Dave F.
  • Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    Nick has lots of 'real world' knowledge, he just comes over as a bit abrupt sometimes, possibly due to having to answer the same questions time & again!