allrounder

marc123
marc123 Posts: 20
edited August 2007 in MTB buying advice
I know you've probably had this question a million times but i'm new to this so bear with me please :lol: I am looking at buying a new bike and was considering buying a giant trance 3 which i have seen for £699 now i need a bike which will be at home riding down a canal tow path as well as tearing down a decent hill off road do you think this bike will fit this criteria or would you recommend another,also will it be a problem riding a full suss bike like this as opposed to a hardtail as i have been led to believe full suss bike's move too much when riding on the flat so hurting your back and making the ride more difficult.thank's all for the advice. :?

Comments

• Scubar
    Scubar Posts: 453
    buying a cheap FS bike like that is probably a bad idea, go with a hardtail and learn the basics first , plus you will get much better spec on a hardtail than a HS at that price.

Wiggle have some good discounts on their Focus line of bikes. The one for £559 i think it was is very well specced,

http://wiggle.co.uk/ProductDetail.aspx? ... ike%202007

My Marin Hawkhill 2007 - http://www.pinkbike.com/photo/1382583/
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The Trance 3 is pretty good for that money though - good frame, Tora fork, Avid Juicy 3 - but its one you need go and see before you buy, as with any bike. A hardtail would be lighter.
  • marc123
    marc123 Posts: 20
    thanks for the advice,so what good hardtail bike would you recommend with full speck also what make bikes would you suggest i look at.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Genesis Altitude, GT Avalanche Expert, GT Aggressor XCR, Trek 6500, Specialized Rockhopper Disc
  • russjm
    russjm Posts: 31
    supersonic wrote:
    Genesis Altitude, GT Avalanche Expert, GT Aggressor XCR, Trek 6500, Specialized Rockhopper Disc