Advice on new bike please.

davelakers
davelakers Posts: 762
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
Im not only new to this forum, but Im relatively new to road cycling. I bought a Carrera Gryphon hybrid bike from Halfords through my companies C2W scheme last year. It handles the daily 26 mile commute easily but as Im now getting into longer weekend bike rides and needing a bit more speed and spec (and most importantly less weight, the Gryphon weighs a ton) I am at a loss at which bike to try and persuade my wife into letting me buy.

I dont want to spend much more than £600. I noticed the new Boardman Comp bike, which is available through Halfords through the C2W scheme, looks and sounds very good. But Im torn between that and trading in my current bike with my local bike shop and buying a bike from there.

Does anyone recommend a decent entry levelish road racing bike?

Comments

• Hi Dave.

With the '08 bikes due out shortly, you should be getting some good deals for around £600 - £700 on the '07 bikes from the usual suspects, Trek, Spesh, Giant, Bianchi, Scott etc.

Have a look round the online stores, find a few that you like the look of, locate your nearest dealer for each and take them for a a good 30 min test ride. That should help you make a good informed decision.
    My Bikes:

Road
    Dirt
    Fast
  • davelakers
    davelakers Posts: 762
    Hi Dave.

With the '08 bikes due out shortly, you should be getting some good deals for around £600 - £700 on the '07 bikes from the usual suspects, Trek, Spesh, Giant, Bianchi, Scott etc.

Have a look round the online stores, find a few that you like the look of, locate your nearest dealer for each and take them for a a good 30 min test ride. That should help you make a good informed decision.

Thanks for that.

Is buying online recommended for bikes? What about set up etc? Can you buy and take it in to LBS for set up? Do they not get shitty?