Dilema - Help Please!

smokey74
smokey74 Posts: 20
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
Hi All

I'm completely new to road bikes, and am trying to pick something decent to start off with. I went looking today, and found a Specialized Allez Elite (07) and a Specialized Roubaix Elite (06), both for the same price. The second is completely carbon, while the first only has carbon bits. I also came across a Bianchi Anniversary model (07) which is cheaper than either of the Specs.

As you can probably tell, I'm not terribly sure what I am looking for. Do these sound ok for a beginner, or would you recommend something else?

Many thanks in advance. :D

Comments

• overmars
    overmars Posts: 430
    Try 'em both out. :D
    Buy the one that corresponds to the music of your soul... 8)

The next bike I buy I'm bringing a Rabbi, a priest and a monk with me for guidance.
  • smokey74
    Thanks for that.

I did have a quick ride on both, and to be honest, coming from a MTB they both seemed kinda similiar to me......

Also wondering whether I shouldn't wait a couple of weeks til the '08 bikes come out - the '07 ones presumably get a lot cheaper?
  • pw1brown
    pw1brown Posts: 243
    I would take my time, and test ride several if possible. It's less important to get a bargain than to get a bike that fits you well and that you feel good about. Because hopefully you and the new bike are going to spend a lot of time together.
  • smokey74
    Yeah youre completely right. I need to have a proper look around - both the bikes above were in the same (and first) shop I have been into. I guess I was in a bit of a hurry cos I was keen to get out there, and wasnt sure how long summer would last!!

If you have any recommendations to help with the search, that would be cool :D
  • hilaryw
    hilaryw Posts: 12