Resting too much on my training runs, but helpless to stop i

sonicred007
sonicred007 Posts: 1,091
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
Although I've been cycling for 2 years, I still have plenty of newbie shackles to break off.

I'd like some tips on the psychology of keeping the cadence up.... I'm finding it too easy when I'm out on a 50 mile loop to lose momentum, but then I'll regain my composure and pick up the pace again

Admittedly, I've missed most of the spring in terms of base fitness, and now I am trying desperately to get some durability to my training runs for a couple of autumn sportives

Any thoughts on greater consistency to my pedalling?

Comments

• Cant beat a training partner.
  • sonicred007
    I must admit, it's my third training run - other than that I'm commuting 15 miles work - and I just got frustrated and impatient today when I got really pooped three or four times during a 3 and half hour ride.

I'm looking to join a local club for winter discipline

If I can't get a riding partner, any lone riding tips to keep the energy levels up
  • ut_och_cykla
    ut_och_cykla Posts: 1,594
    FOOD?
    Cycling briskish for 3 hours + and wanting to keep pace up means food is probably needed, easy to digest, sugary food (fruit included here!) - but don't go overboard !!!
    Also split ride into definable bits by time or objective - eg don't stop till you've ridden an hour, until you reach the church etc...
    And try not to try TOO hard... gathering pools of pain in your legs is not a good incentive for them to want to keep working... back off a bit before hand!!
  • sonicred007
    FOOD?
    Cycling briskish for 3 hours + and wanting to keep pace up means food is probably needed, easy to digest, sugary food (fruit included here!) - but don't go overboard !!!
    Also split ride into definable bits by time or objective - eg don't stop till you've ridden an hour, until you reach the church etc...