how hard am i working?

ARob
ARob Posts: 143
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
i started riding a few months ago and have got my average speed up from 17mph to around 19-20.

i heard somewhere that wind resistance is proportional to speed squared and therefore the power needed to overcome this is proportional to speed cubed.

does anyone know if this is right? that would mean the power needed at 20mph is 63% more than at 17 mph. can this be right?

Comments

• Big Red S
    Big Red S Posts: 26,890
    The force created by the viscous drag at low speeds is approximately proportional to the velocity. So the power increaces as a square.
    At high velocities it is proportional to the square and the cube, respectively.

But this is a measure of the power at the rear wheel, not neccesarily the power you're producing (presumably you're now more efficient at using your energy to make you go), and it's only of the power used to overcome viscous drag, not any other form of resistance (like hills and bad bearings).
  • Garybee
    Garybee Posts: 815
    Drag (wind resistance) increases by the square of the speed. So if you double your speed you quadrouple your drag. This is true at any speed, there is no switch to cubing.

At low speeds much of the resistance you have to overcome is rolling resistance. As you increase speed the proportion of the total resistance that is made up by the total resistance is less. This is due to rolling resistance increasind linearly.

At high speeds the majority of the resistance is made up by wind resistance.

In the example you used the power required would be about 38% greater to sustain the increased speed.

Hypocrisy is only a bad thing in other people.