Unhealthy Weight Loss? When to eat?

Chirg
Chirg Posts: 141
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
I have been cycling for six months now (still class myself as a newby) and have steadily lost two inches from my waist over this time. I am six foot and now have a 32 inch waist which I want to maintain. In the last two weeks I have done 150 miles per week, including a 84 miler last Saturday which is by far my longest distance ever. I was shocked to that I seem to have gone down a belt notch (to 31) within these two weeks. I am sure this is really unhealthy and don't want to get any thinner, but want to keep up this mileage each week. Should I try to eat more during long my ride or eat like a horse in the days between the long rides?

Comments

• Garybee
    Garybee Posts: 815
    Welcome to the racing cyclist's club of "worrying about your weight too much". I'm 5'10" and have a 28" waist, if i lose 2lbs i worry that i'm either dehydrated or going to go slower in TTs. If i gain 2lbs i worry that i'm putting on weight and won't be as good a climber.

Hypocrisy is only a bad thing in other people.
  • Smeggers
    Smeggers Posts: 1,019
    Equally, Im 6'2" and a 38 inch waist.

I therefore hate the ground you walk on! :wink:
    <font size="1">Hickory Dickory Dock,
    A baby elephant ran up the clock,
    The clock is being repaired</font id="size1">
  • Blonde
    Blonde Posts: 3,188