Help me please

purplemad
purplemad Posts: 86
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
Right so I have some questions.

1) so how do you take out your bottle out of it's cage and put it back in again without a) falling off your bike and b) dropping your bottle when trying to put it back in again? Yesterday I went out for a ride, and I really struggle to take the bottle out of the cage, but I am getting better at it, is there a knack to it? Then when I tried put the bottle back I managed to drop it and then rode over the bottle!!!! Luckily I managed to stay on my bike, but the bottle was dented, it's still useable though.

2) which pedal are you supposed to unclip first. I have heard loads of people saying that it's the bottom pedal, but I was at work the other day talking about this with someone at work and they said people were having me on. Is it the bottom pedal or the top pedal or is it just a matter of preference?

I am a real newbie to this road cycling malarky, but I love it so far and want to get even better.

I know I have more questions, but I can't think of them all at the moment. (I am working today so I may not be able to answer any replies until much later)

Thanks in advance

Comments

• spasypaddy
    spasypaddy Posts: 5,180
    1. Taking a bottle in and out just comes with practice, I've only ever dropped my bottle once and that was stupidity rather than anything else. I personally stop pedalling when i want to remove or replace my bottle, i also always reach down with the same arm (can't remember which one its a natural movement for me now...)

2. Unclip whichever foot you want to put down on the ground, i always like to stand on my left as i have more power pushing away with my right leg on the first stroke. So whichever leg is your lead leg is the one to leave clipped in. It is completely down to personal preference.
  • Garybee
    Garybee Posts: 815