Tubs help..

Pete Beer
Pete Beer Posts: 604
edited August 2007 in Road general
My very old Wolber tub has just blown. I'm new to tubulars and wondered whether to glue or tape the new one onto the rim. The bike is only used on the road. I guess all of the existing glue will need to be removed, what's and the best method?
Still I'm conviced it's worth percivering.
Cheers

Comments

• The first question to ask is: Why to you want to stick with tubs?

If it's for the historical accuracy of your bike then fair enough, no arguments there.

If, however, it's for some perceived benifit then don't bother. In the old days a tub could take much higher pressures than a clincher, but modern clinchers and rims can take pretty silly pressures. Tubs and sprints are lighter than the equivalent clincher setup, but the weight saving is pretty small when weighed (ahem!) against the disadvantages. Of course the biggest disadvantage is what happens in the case of a puncture. It's fine if you have a support car to swap your wheel, not so great when you're 40 miles from home on your own.

If you are going to stick with tubs then I'd go for tape every time. Not historically correct for an old bike, but much more convenient.
    "Swearing, it turns out, is big and clever" - Jarvis Cocker
  • Gavin Gilbert
    Gavin Gilbert Posts: 4,019
    Despite wot the feathered one says, the very best tubs (Dugast or Veloflex Record) are still miles ahead of clinchers. But these are hideously expensive - I think I will throw up if/when my Dugasts p*nct*re.

I use Conti tubs on my Corima TT wheels, with tape, as it is less hassle. The advice I was given when I set them up from the older hands was that glue was only really needed for use on the track due to the higher lateral forces whilst banking, or on long descents when the rim can heat up with braking.
  • Pete Beer
    Thanks for the replies.