Ribble Dedacciai Carbon/Ultegra 10 spd

coopsm
coopsm Posts: 5
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
Hi ,

I am new to the world of road bikes and would welcome any advice on the Ribble Dedacciai Carbon. Are there any reviews of this bike that anyone can point me in the direction of ?

I am looking to spend around £1k and the more I research the more I am getting confused !
Any other recommendations ? - I don't want to be pounding the streets on my mountain bike for much longer !

Thanks

Comments

• passout
    passout Posts: 4,425
    There's a thread on this already on this website 'Ribble vs Condor' or something under 'Road'. Well worth a look, the Ribble comes out very well. It's certainly excellent value. Generally Ribble are good - especially if you can visit the shop (in Preston) and get measured up.
    'Happiness serves hardly any other purpose than to make unhappiness possible' Marcel Proust.
  • Looked at one this afternoon. Would not hand over £550 for the frame with my own money. Looked a little frail in key areas and the frame had many points of stress concentration where you do not want it. For this money I'd lump for a Cinelli Unica or hunt around for a 2007 £1400 bike discounted down.

If it seems too good to be true it usually is.

1 year frame warranty on a carbon frame is very scary.
    Racing is life - everything else is just waiting
  • passout
    passout Posts: 4,425
    Yes the one year warranty put me off in the end - I've decided to stick with alu for my next bike anyway. I don't work for www.wiggle.co.uk but the focus cayo (carbon) still looks a good bet. They do some nice alu frames too - I'll probably go for one of those myself.

I'd go for the Shimano 105 groupset (triple or compact) or possibly Ultegra if you want to spend more.