Handlebar and Brake Position Advice on a Road Bike

jwadham
jwadham Posts: 14
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
It probably boils down to trying different positions, which I have, but could anyone give me some basic advice on a starting position for my handlebars and brake/STI gear leavers on my road bike please?

I've tried different angles etc and although I've found a fairly comfortable position I still feel as though I am making a compromise between comfort on riding on the hoods and in the drops.

Also when riding on the hoods my thumbs ache! Does anyone ever angle the brake levers in or out slightly?

I’m very new to road bikes (bought bike 2 weeks ago and clocked up 90miles) so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Very much down to personal preference and trying a few positions as you say.

I tend to have my bars so that the drops (the bottom part of the bars) are slightly angled down - sort of towards the rear wheel axle.

I tend to have my shifters quite low, but other guys in my club prefer the "six shooter" approach with the levers mounted just where the bars start to curve down - the levers poke up quite a way - almost like a pistol grip (hence "six shooter"). Start with them set up so that the brake lever is nearly vertical when looked at from the side with the bike on level ground - and try moving up or down the bars from there.

You can angle the levers in a little or have them dead straight.

When I set up a new bike, I never put the bar tape on until I've had a few rides to test the bar and lever positions first.
  • pieinthesky
    pieinthesky Posts: 417
    We can give you ideas but nobody can really tell you what will suit you.

I would suggest setting it up as you think best after reading suggestions on the forum and then after a few months (including some long rides) review the situation. You will then have more idea how you want it.
  • jwadham