Hardtail £ 600 Max

Jonny-88
Jonny-88 Posts: 14
edited August 2007 in MTB buying advice
Hi, so I am new to MTB and want a decent bike for around £600 but would like it closer to £500 if possible.

I'm aware that any full sus under £1000 is a bit dodgy so I definetly want a hardtail.

My question is which one ? I'm open to all ideas

Obviously I want a good all round bike and I will be doing some small jumps so it needs to be sturdy. I needs to have hydrolic brakes and a decent fork and frame.

Thanks

Comments

• Big n Daft
    Big n Daft Posts: 418
    You were 95% sure you wanted a Fury not too long ago..... :roll:

Well......small jumps? As in trail sized ones? Or full on jumpy types?

Trail, general xc bikes.....
    Giant XTC 4.5 or 3.5
    Trek 6000 disc
    Spesh Rockhopper Disc.
    Decathlon Rockrider.
    Fury (because at £450, it will match if not beat most of the above on spec)
    Merlin Malt
    Boardman Comp (the best specced £600 bike i have ever seen)

Jump bikes, i dunno, not my thing.

Take a look, try em out (if poss) decide which feels the best, hand over moolah, ride and enjoy.
    Cycle tracks will abound in Utopia. ~H.G. Wells

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x42/ ... 3Small.jpg
  • Jonny-88
    Jonny-88 Posts: 14
    What about a GT Avalanche 1.0. It certainly got a good review on this site and halfords should stock it so that means 10% off as well.
  • Big n Daft
    Not bad, decent enough spec although the fury still beats it on fork.

Would make a reasonable choice, i certainly dont think it would let you down if you use it for its designed purpose.

I wouldnt buy one because i do not like the triple triangle thang....but that is soley personal and no reflection on the bike at all.

Again try one out, see how it suits....thats the only way your going to find 'the' one.

• beski
    beski Posts: 542
    GT Aggressor XC1 is worth a look
    Giant Defy 4 2014
    GT Avalanche Expert 2006
    Specialized Hardrock 1989
  • dylancrisp