Doping...

jonesy124
jonesy124 Posts: 205
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
Like many people here i am new to the cycling scene and am very confused by the amount of doping that seems to be going on.

Why do professional cyclists feel the need to do it when they know what risks are involved? Do they not care about the damage they are causing to the the world of cycling and its reputation?

I would like to hear other peoples opinions on this one.... cheers.

Comments

• Max Weber
    Max Weber Posts: 183
    Why do footballers dive, students cheat in exams or coursework, or city boys fiddle their taxes?
  • penugent
    penugent Posts: 913
    jonesy124 wrote:
    professional cyclists feel the need to do it .

Cash.
  • jonesy124
    jonesy124 Posts: 205
    but at the end of the day its not just having a bad affect on them, its giving cycling a bad name. maybe they're not too bothered about that.
  • gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    same as all sports really - pressure to win to succeed to do well for your sponsors and ultimately for personal gain.

In the grand tours, there is the added element of it being such a mega -endurance event - and yet every second counds - every last % of effort or power you can get out of your body counts - so people are naturally going to want the best equipment, the best diet and ultimately - turn to substances to get even more from their bodies..
  • why dont they have a tour with only the main sponsors envolved?
    felix's bike

pedal like you stole something!!!
  • AndyGates
    AndyGates Posts: 8,467
    What would that achieve?
    Wanted: Penny farthing. Please PM me!
    Advice for kilted riders: top-tubes are cold.
  • less sponsors to please? reduce the greed of it all, if yousponsor a team u want the on the news press etc bywinning not losing, so thats why theres so much pressure on the riders to perform for the sponsors
    felix's bike

• hammerite
    hammerite Posts: 3,408