Cleats, Getting my feet out when I really need to.

grant.smith
grant.smith Posts: 42
edited July 2007 in Road beginners
Hi,

Yesterday I went out for my first big ride including a couple of 1:6 hills and for the most part really enjoyed using my new cleats. I have never used Cleats before but found great, I obviously had the obligatory fall off when I used them on Saturday, but all in all very happy. Thats was until yesterday.

When I was climbing a very steep hill I had enough, everything was hurting and my Heart Rate was at 215 so I wanted to stop get my breath back and then carry on. It was at that point I discovered I could not get my feet out of the cleats no matter how hard I struggled.

This happened twice more again on hills as I was going up, thankfully I was on quiet roads and I fell to the left, thus into a verge and not the middle of the road.

So is this normal, user error or can I do anything to make it more reliable, as in, when I need to get my feet out, I can.

Obviously this has really knocked my confidence so any advice would be gratefully received.

Comments

• Eat My Dust
    Eat My Dust Posts: 3,965
    If you start to panic (even a little bit) it always seems harder to unclip. You'll get used to them and then you won't even think about it!!
  • bahzob
    bahzob Posts: 2,195
    If its any consolation almost exactly the same thing happened to me when I started using cleats just over a year ago. I changed down on a steep hill but the chain slipped off the gear so the crank locked. I toppled over into a heap, luckily no cars nearby.

Good news is that keep trying and slipping in out will become unconcsious action so eposides like this will be thing of the past. (e,g, same as above happened earlier this year on a 17% hill but I had become experienced enough to slip out of my cleats before hitting the deck).
    Martin S. Newbury RC
  • Hackbike 6
    Hackbike 6 Posts: 3,116